‘Land of the Lustrous’ Manga Explores a World of Crystalline Lifeforms Returns From Hiatus

Land of the Lustrous Manga 2

The English release of the manga “Land of the Lustrous” by Kodansha USA Publishing delves into a world inhabited by crystalline lifeforms known as The Lustrous. These unique gems find themselves engaged in a constant struggle to preserve their way of life against the looming threat of lunarians, who seek to transform them into mere decorations.

At the center of the narrative is Phosphophyllite, the most fragile and brittle of the gems, who yearns to actively participate in the ongoing battle.

Land of the Lustrous Manga
Land of the Lustrous Manga (Credits: Kodansha)

However, an unexpected twist of fate assigns Phos the seemingly mundane task of creating a natural history of their world. Despite its initial appearance as a dull endeavor, this new responsibility brings Phos into contact with Cinnabar, another gem compelled to live in isolation. The question remains: Can Phos’s ostensibly ordinary assignment lead both Phos and Cinnabar to the fulfillment they ardently desire?

The manga, authored by Haruko Ichikawa, first premiered in Kodansha’s Afternoon magazine in 2012, unveiling a captivating narrative set against the backdrop of a unique and fantastical world. Kodansha has continued the series with the release of the 12th compiled book volume in November 2022, adding to the ongoing legacy of “Land of the Lustrous.”

Land of the Lustrous Manga
Land of the Lustrous Manga (Credits: Kodansha)

The anime adaptation of the manga, consisting of 12 episodes, made its debut in October 2017. Initially, HIDIVE streamed the series for audiences outside the United States and Canada during its original broadcast, later expanding its availability to include these regions in June 2018. Concurrently,

amazon’s now-discontinued Anime Strike service also provided streaming access to the series in the United States and Canada. Sentai Filmworks subsequently released the anime as a steelbook complete collection in January 2019, offering fans a comprehensive viewing experience of the acclaimed series.


Deja tu comentario