<
>

What If Season 2 Episode 8: Release Date, Spoilers & Streaming Guide

Captain America In 1602 e1703700662650


Episode 8 is titled “What If… The Avengers Assembled in 1602?”. In this What If Episode, we will see our OG Avengers team getting thrown back in time to 1602. In this timeline, while fighting Thanos at Wakanda in Infinity War Captain America accidentally taps into the Time Stone, and the Avengers are transported to 1602. 

This episode might be interesting because this will be the pre-ultimate episode of the season, and at this time, we could see the big bad of this season. All What If season one episodes were leading up to the big bad, which was Ultron in Vision’s body and taking hold of the multiverse.

I don’t know yet who the big bad will be, but like we say in the Captain Carter episode of Season 2, Captain Carter was taken back in time to 1602 by Scarlet Witch in order to save the multiverse from something or someone. Looks like Scarlet Witch is forming a team to fight against the big bad of this season.

Recap

Before diving into What If Season 2 Episode 8, let’s quickly recap the previous episode. We’ve started to get post-credits scenes and teasers for what the finale is going to be. We’re actually going to see that finale literally in a couple of days.

What If Season 2 Episode 8
Hydra Stomper (Credits: Disney Plus)

We get a brief cameo from the Watcher inside his multiverse base in episode 5. It’s located between universes depicting them as facets of a mirror like him, just watching different television stations, basically. He breaks the fourth wall when he says he doesn’t do sequels, meaning that he knows he’s a fictional character inside a TV show that has episodes.

The Watchers have done this in previous comic books before, like Broken the Fourth Wall. But typically, there are very few comic book characters in Marvel that break the fourth wall, like Deadpool and She-Hulk, for instance.

She-Hulk did the exact same thing during the live-action MCU, but she actually broke the fifth wall when she was doing that. And that’s usually when you address the writers of the show. She literally paused her show and backed out on Disney. Plus, she left her show literally.

In this episode, we get a different version of the Avengers team, and pretty much everybody’s suits look similar to the ones they wore during the first Avengers movie or like in Captain Carter’s case, it’s based on Captain America during that movie and based on her original suit. So it’s like a more modernized version of her Captain Britain-looking suit.

The Wasp suit looks like the one that she was wearing in Ant-Man and the Wasp, just like a red version of that. The Wasp Being on the team is also a bit of a reference to the original Avengers team. When The Avengers first formed in the 1960s, Wasp was a big part of that original roster.

Fun fact, when they were making the first live-action MCU Avengers movie, they actually almost put a version of Wasp on the team. Can you believe what that would have been like if she had played a version of the Wasp? I think that’s why they put her on this version of the team.

It is a bit of a meta Easter egg, like this alternate version of a live-action MCU Avengers that almost wound up happening. A lot more happened in previous episodes, but now let’s discuss when Episode 8 of What If Season 2 will be released and what will happen in it.

What If Season 2 Episode 6
Kahhori using powers (Credits: Marvel Studios)

Release Date & Where to Read

What If Season 2 Episode 8 will be released on 29 December 2023 on Disney Plus. This Episode is titled “What If… The Avengers Assembled in 1602?”. At the time of writing, 9 episodes are scheduled for this second season of What If, and we think there will be only 9 episodes like the previous season.

The Synopsis for Episode 8: “Captain Carter must determine the reason behind the temporal error that has inexplicably left so many well-known heroes and villains stranded in the year 1602, after being transported to an Elizabethan-era setting filled by present MCU characters.”

Episode 8 of What If Season 2 will air at 3 am PT in the US. New episodes of What If Season 2 will be released every day this Christmas season. The episode 7 release timings for the rest of the world are as follows:

  • Pacific Time (New York) 3:00 AM on Friday, 29 December 2023
  • Eastern Time (Canada) 6:00 AM on Friday, 29 December 2023
  • Greenwich Mean Time (London) 11:00 AM on Friday, 29 December 2023
  • Central European Time (Germany) 12:00 PM on Friday, 29 December 2023
  • Indian Standard Time (India) 3:30 PM on Friday, 29 December 2023
  • Philippine Standard Time (Philippines) 6:00 PM on Friday, 29 December 2023
  • Australian Standard Time (Australia) 8:00 PM on Friday, 29 December 2023

You can watch What If S2 E8 on Disney Plus every day at 3:00 AM PT in the US.

Etiquetas
Siguiente

Deja tu comentario